1. Before you ask anything, make sure that you've read the FAQ

3D print models of terrahypt things

Discussion in 'Zerahypt Fan Art' started by dtb1987, Jun 27, 2015.

  1. dtb1987

    dtb1987 Aon chomhalta ar eolas go maith

    • Donor
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    60
    I think we should get together and create 3d models of things in terrahypt we can print with 3D printers. I'm working on a few things right now and will post then here when they are done, but i'm not going to lie im not the best at this
     
    Leopoldeo8 and Dzhim like this.
  2. HelKat

    HelKat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    35
    Get a huge 3d printer and print Terrahypt in quarter-scale, try to get it into the United States as the 51st State
     
  3. dtb1987

    dtb1987 Aon chomhalta ar eolas go maith

    • Donor
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    60
  4. Corona688

    Corona688 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    24
    Considering this is a 3d game, we could just up and ask for the models. Might make more sense than rebuilding a polygon model of a polygon model.
     
    Magiichan likes this.
  5. dtb1987

    dtb1987 Aon chomhalta ar eolas go maith

    • Donor
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    60
    if he is willing sure, but part of the fun is making it yourself
     
  6. Corona688

    Corona688 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    24
    For things which haven't been modeled yet, sure. For those which have, it sounds equally fun -- and futile -- as copying the dictionary by hand.
     
  7. dtb1987

    dtb1987 Aon chomhalta ar eolas go maith

    • Donor
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    60
    Then don't participate
     
  8. captainmanchild

    captainmanchild Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    8
    Don't hate me for saying this, but I think it would be best to start by importing the ga... ahem, I mean FUS into unity, and then export the desired game asset model.
    If you folks want, I can do this when I get the time and personally test the models on my printer. Funny enough, I asked syrsa about this months ago, and he seemed to be indifferent towards it, so I think if we were to do this, we'd have to do it ourselves...
    Hope this doesn't constitute as necroposting...
     
    dtb1987 and B1G-CR1ME like this.
  9. dtb1987

    dtb1987 Aon chomhalta ar eolas go maith

    • Donor
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    60
  10. cassox

    cassox Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    4
    i might be able to help, idk, most of what i do is with inventor and stuff. its engineering stuff.
     
    dtb1987 and captainmanchild like this.
  11. captainmanchild

    captainmanchild Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    8
    That might work; however, I think Syrsa uses AutoCAD for his models. Our best bet would be to use blender and convert them to the proper printing format.
    Something we would also need to do would be to clean up the models; sometimes there's unnecessary hidden polygons within the model, and those can really mess with the printer.
     
  12. dtb1987

    dtb1987 Aon chomhalta ar eolas go maith

    • Donor
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    60
    I think cad can save as stl which is all i need for my printer
     
    captainmanchild likes this.
  13. cassox

    cassox Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    4
    i know how to use autocad, though i have no idea how the 3d aspect of it works. autocad is basically the simple inventor, even made by the same company
     
  14. dtb1987

    dtb1987 Aon chomhalta ar eolas go maith

    • Donor
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    60
    I work in the IT department of an Engineering company I know they make 3D drawings in cad but they do it using a program called navisworks so they can see the solid images, personally i would use something like 3D studio max or blender to do the actual modeling
     
  15. cassox

    cassox Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    4
    makes sense, I'm only a student so like, y'all exceed my knowledge in this XD
     
    dtb1987 likes this.
  16. Leopoldeo8

    Leopoldeo8 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have some experience on 3D modeling and im actaully modelling some characters from Terrahypt and also a basic thilian head preset
     
  17. Spyrox

    Spyrox Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Or you could just. You know. Take the models right out of the game...
    I assume it's ok to do that since modding is allowed.
    You can find (all?) the models in zerahypt_data/resources.assets using Unity Studio to open the files. In-fact, I've already taken out a few models that interested me in their design that I wish to base off of in Space Engineers.
    Here are some of the pictures of the models that I opened in an online 3d viewer.
    BattlecruiserHull.PNG ChaustolCruiserChass.PNG skyfletcherChass.PNG
    I'd put them in spoiler but chrome hates me right now.
     
  18. Terminator_722

    Terminator_722 Veteran Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2016
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    28
    wow, nice! i didn't know we could do that. i had gotten sound files out of the .assets files before, but i didn't know i could use the models.